The final chapter: going home.

I feel numb as I sit here and look at this blank page.

For the last few months I have been planning what I want to say in my final blog post, but now it comes to it, I find myself lost for words.

My adventure has come to an end a little earlier than expected, but for personal reasons which I wont go into, I am coming home TODAY. The decision was made last weekend, and I managed to re-arrange my flight which means that my time in Barcelona has come to an end.

For the last 8 months, I have been lucky enough to call this magnificent city my home. But now its time to pack up my cases and change my life AGAIN, by moving back England and going back to Uni.

Am I sad?

Not as sad as I thought I would be.

All good things must come to an end and I am immensely proud of myself for what I have achieved this year. I have been adopted by a family, become a Spanish resident, learned how to be a teacher and have lived away from my loved ones for EIGHT MONTHS.

How many people can claim to have done that?

One things for sure, i’m not the same person. I’m stronger, happier and more determined than ever to make the most of life and become the best god dam teacher the worlds ever seen (Well, maybe that’s exaggerating  little bit, but you get me..)

What will I’ve missed!

  • Joe. I know i’ve bagged myself a cracker.
  • My family (more than I ever could have anticipated)
  • English fooooooood: Sunday dinners and curry!
  • Being able to text and have data (I never got round to getting a Spanish sim)
  • Tap water
  • Soaks in the bath
  • The gym (believe it or not)

What I’ve loved!

  • The Avellan Family. I love them all and feel blessed to have been a member of their family.
  • Spanish food. There are a number of foods that I never would have dreamed of eating back home, namely: lentils, chickpeas, courgette soup and tuna pizza. All have now become firm favourites and I cant wait to try and recreate them back home. Even the structure of meals here is better as its split up into first/second plate. I’ve also realised that i’m really NOT a meat fan, Pescetarianism is calling my name.
  • I’ve been super busy up until now, working full-time, doing my TEFL qualification and still managing to fit in my uni work. Superwoman or what?
  • At school we get a 2 hour lunch break.. absolute heaven. I’ve got my moneys worth out of my Netflix subscription that’s for sure!
  • The kids at school! I’ve established some good relationships and bonds with some of the classes, particularly with p5 and year 1. When I arrived I felt kind of lost around so many kids, but now I wouldn’t want to be anywhere else.
  • I’ve been lucky enough to have my laundry done for me and oh boy, its been a real treat. I can’t say i’m thrilled at the thought of having to pick up an iron when I get home. Thank you Rita and Arian.

What I’ve learned

  • The biggest thing I’ve learned is how to talk to kids. Believe it or not, its not as easy as it looks, especially if they aren’t English. When I first arrived, I would just stand there awkwardly, not really knowing what to do about the 4 year-old child attached to my leg. But over time, i’ve developed great relationships with most of the students by being playful and fun, talking to them in a way they can understand and just generally getting stuck in. The most amazing moment for me was after the Easter holidays. I walked into the p5 Giraffe class and I was completely pounced upon. They’d missed me and it was super cute.
  • How to write a blog! This blog has been something ive looked forward to writing every Monday. Everyone seems to love it, and its great to look back and read all about things I’ve done.
  • How to be tired…ALL THE TIME. I’m not sure if its the heat, the long days, or the fact that I walk over 10KM a week.
  • I can now understand a fair bit of Spanish, and even a bit of Catalan. Still can’t speak it though.
  • How to say goodbye and walk away.

My tips!

  • Buy a map and get your bearings as fast as you can, get to know the bus rotes and metros.
  • Have a clear understanding of what you are expected to do so you- with the family and at school.
  • Do what makes YOU happy.
  • Eat a lot of oranges! I’m being serious when I say i have caught over 20 colds this year.
  • Getting a NIE is a nightmare, don’t expect to get it overnight. You’ll also need to take somebody who speaks Spanish with you or you’ll have absolutely no idea what’s going on.
  • The Spanish way of life is quite slow and people tend to be a bit half-soaked, so get used to it.
  • Learn some basic Spanish to help the kids. But not too much as they’ll get lazy (poo is caca, you’ll hear that a lot)
  • Have someone you can talk to, and have people come out to see you to keep you going.

 

What’s next?!

Well first, I need to re-organise my life. My clothes are all over the place, so a big clear-out is needed.

I basically need a full human MOT.. I need a haircut, a trip to the dentist, doctors and dermatologist.

I need to graduate with a 1:1 next year, do a primary PGCE and then get a job doing what I love.

And so…

This is it.

The final chapter

This experience has been nothing short of life changing and the amazing memories I have will stay with me for as long as I live.

Goodbye Barcelona, thank you for changing my life.

Adios,

Chloe

 

 

Leave a Reply

